Scones

I LOVE scones, but I haven’t had one in a really long time. I did have one at Starbucks once, a few years ago, I didn’t enjoy it so much. I don’t know why because I DO love vanilla bean. I think I have a keeper though– so soft and so tastefully buttery, not greasy at all! The first time I made scones at home, they turned out great as well, but I didn’t enjoy the glaze. Powdered sugar usually just tastes like soap to me…so there I had a yummy scone with a drizzle of lemony soap. Here’s to 3! Scones and some coffee to dunk ’em in (if I even drank any, lol). These scones are sooooo good, slightly warm, just on it’s own :)

three

Scones adapted via America’s Test Kitchen (makes 8 mini scones)

  • 1 c. unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 T. baking powder
  • 1 1/2 T. granulated sugar
  • 1/4 t. kosher salt
  • 2 1/2 T. or 35 g. frozen unsalted butter, cubed
  • 1/4 c. dried sweetened cranberries
  • 1/2 c. heavy cream
  • melted white chocolate, to drizzle
  • 5 pistachios, chopped very finely
  1. Preheat the oven to 425F. 
  2. Add flour, baking powder, sugar, and salt to a food processor. Pulse the mixture 6x.
  3. Sprinkle atop the cubed butter and pulse 12x. Add cranberries and pulse 1x.
  4. Transfer the mixture to a clean bowl, and pour in the cream. Combine the cream into the flour, about 30x folds. Gently knead the dough to combine all the crumbs, creating a soft ball.
  5. Press the dough into a loaf pan, and then invert the dough back out onto a sheet of parchment paper on top of a baking sheet. Cut the dough into 4 triangles for larger scones or 8 triangles for mini scones. Arrange them on the parchment paper. Bake for 10 minutes.
  6. Let the scones cool for 5-10 minutes before drizzling them with white chocolate and topping them with pistachio crumbs. Enjoy them warm, YUMMM!!
Leave a Reply

