Peruvian Roast Chicken

When I scent cumin I think of foods between the Middle-East-ish to India, I don’t think of Peru. The aroma of it is so distinct that when I do taste it, it’s all that I taste. Although I do really enjoy it, I think I’ve had an overdose of cumin these past several weeks. Also brought to my attention by the Mr. Yes, he’s sick of cumin & I know because he told me, lol. Anyways, the chicken came out nice and moist…that all I really cared about from the beginning. I knew it was going to be cumin-y, but most importantly I wanted it to come out moist at the least…so F the cumin, heh.

Thus far I have roasted bone-in chicken breast halves, two-halves of a chicken, so next I need to finally roast a whole chicken…that has been my goal all along. I appears to be an intimidating task so I’ve been sorta working my way there. However, with all the success so far, I realize that roasting a chicken isn’t going to be all that challenging. I can do it! A turkey, next on the list…for Thanksgiving maybe!

Peruvian Roast Chicken via Skinny Taste

  • 3.5 lb whole chicken, cleaned & trimmed of fat
  • 6 oz. Corona
  • 3 oz. white vinegar
  • 1 lime, juiced
  • 2 t. cumin
  • 2 t. garlic powder
  • 1 t. dried oregano
  • salt & pepper
  • paprika
  1. In a large glass bowl, combine beer, vinegar, lime juice, cumin, garlic powder, and oregano. Submerge the chicken inside the bowl and generously salt, pepper, and paprika each side. Marinate the chicken for 24 hours, and rotate it a couple times in between.
  2. Preheat the oven to 425F. Remove the chicken from the marinate, and cut the chicken in half.
  3. In a foil-lined baking sheet, place the chicken halves on a rack inside the baking sheet with the skin-side up. Sprinkle salt, pepper, and paprika on the chicken once more.
  4. Begin roasting the chicken in the oven. After 35 minutes, bast the chicken with the pan juices. Continue roasting the chicken for 12 more minutes, or until cooked through. Let the chicken sit for 5 minutes before serving or carving.
Leave a Reply

