Cranberry Almond Breakfast Bars

I swear to never use molasses in anything ever again, except of course…if I’m making a gingerbread house, gingersnaps, or whatever other variation of a gingerbread cookie that there is. AND of course when it’s in brown sugar, I strangely don’t have a problem with it in that form. Molasses is just way way way way way way way too potent for my liking. When I smell it it gives me the goosebumps. When the aftertaste lingers in my mouth I get a headache. When I try to tell myself that it’s not that bad…it’s really just that bad. Ughck.

I was browsing the nifty 80/20 (she’s the closest thing to what I want to become, well that I’ve come across). I found her Quinoa Breakfast Bars and modified it slightly…it turned out great but the taste of molasses is almost permanent on my tongue. I tried to eat some toasted almonds, a few chips of chocolate, a couple pieces of meat, a couple blackberries, and a bunch o’ water to wash it away…but it’s not going anywhere. Help. Well…here it is. I think I’m going to keep the components of my Cranberry Almond Protein Cookies and fuse it with her recipe.

Cranberry Almond Breakfast Bars via Eat 80/20 (6 servings)

  • 3/4 c. whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 t. salt
  • 1/4 t. baking powder
  • 1/4 t. baking soda
  • 1/3 c. applesauce
  • 2 pkg. or 7 g. Truvia
  • 1 T. molasses
  • 1 egg
  • 1 t. almond extract
  • 2/3 c. cooked quinoa
  • 1/2 c. rolled oats
  • 1/3 c. dried sweetened cranberries
  • 1/2 c. slivered almonds
  • 1 scoop ON Any Whey Protein Powder
  • 1 T. mini semi-sweet chocolate chips*

  1. Preheat oven to 375F. Combine flour, salt, baking soda, and baking powder.
  2. In a larger bowl, whisk together applesauce, Truvia, egg, and the extracts.
  3. Slowly whisk the flour mixture into the liquid mixture. Fold in whey protein, quinoa, oats, cranberries, and almonds.
  4. Press batter into sprayed loaf pan and sprinkle with the chocolate chips.
  5. Bake for 12 minutes

* The chocolate chips can either be folded into the batter, melted & drizzled over the bars, or sprinkled on top.

– – –

Okay, I lied. I always speak too soon about these things, LOL. I had some at work today (03/09) and they were not bad at all. It could have used a little more almond flavor, but the molasses was bearable. I still don’t want to make it with molasses next time.

Leave a Reply

